Q & A on 2- and 3-MCPD and their esters, and glycidyl esters
27
VIEWS
by Uthaya kumar
Occurrence in vegetable oils and fats and in food. Potential implications for human health.



We focus on 10 key questions as follows:



1.What are 2- and 3-MCPD and 2- and 3- MCPD Esters? In which

foods are they present and why?



2.What are the potential implications of 3-MCPD and 3-MCPD

esters for human health? And 2-MCPD and 2-MCPD esters?



3.What are glycidyl esters? In which foods are they present and

why?



4.What are the potential implications of glycidyl esters for human

health?



5.Why is higher occurrence found in palm oil and what are the

implications?



Analytics of MCPDE and GE



6.What are the methods applicable to test 2- and 3-MCPD esters

and glycidyl esters in vegetable oils and fats? What about

processed foods?



Industry actions and mitigation measures



7.What have vegetable oil and fat refiners been doing about these

substances?



8.Is it possible to reduce 2- and 3-MCPD esters and glycidyl

esters? Which mitigation measures are available? Are they

effective?



9.What will industry do as next steps?



10.How will EFSA risk assessment be translated into maximum

values?









You need to login to view the report.
Questions & Answers (0) :
Please login to post Question & Answer
Login
Please login/register to view the reports.
Username:
Password:
  Forgot password?
NOT A MEMBER?
Click here to register.
For enquiries, please contact: help@pomdr.org.my
Latest Reports

Latest Reports

Our Regional Experts

USA
Mr. Zainuddin Hassan
zainuddin@mpocus.com
   
Europe
Mr. Uthaya Kumar
kumar@mpoc.eu
   
Turkey
Mr. Mohammad Hafezh
mhafezh@mpoc.org.my
   
Egypt
Mr. Mohamad Suhaili
msuhaili@mpoc.org.my
   
South Africa
Mr. Kamal Azmi
kazmi@mpoc.org.za
   
Pakistan
Mr. Faisal Iqbal
faisal@mpoc.org.pk
   
Bangladesh
Mr. AKM Fakhrul Alam
fakhrul@mpoc.org.bd
   
India
Ms. Bhavna Shah
bhavna@mpoc.org.in
   
China
Mr. Desmond Ng
desmond@mpoc.org.cn
   
Asia Pacific
Mr. Mohammad Hafezh
mhafezh@mpoc.org.my

 

Disclaimer Close
  • Members are entitled to FREE online reports available in this website. For additional services, minimal surcharge may apply.

  • The membership to this website is only applicable to the Malaysian palm oil industry members. If you’re not a Malaysian company, please write to MPOC to be a member.

  • MPOC holds the right to refuse admission to any member as information in this website are meant only for members consumption.
Contact Us Close
Should you require further information, please feel free to email us at the following addresses:
© Copyright 2018 Malaysian Palm Oil Council. All Rights Reserved.