Overview Of Palm Oil In Americas With Special Focus On Colombia
49
VIEWS
by Mohd Izham Hassan
The American continent is an important market for the palm oil industry with an annual import which exceeds one million MT. This region’s consumption of palm oil is close to four million MT annually and is set to increase further in the coming years.



Colombia is the largest producer of palm oil in South America, and the fourth largest producer in the world. It currently produces over a million tons of crude palm oil each year. Although the Colombian production is relatively small compared to those of Malaysia and Indonesia, the country and its palm oil industry is the fourth largest in the world. They have ambitions to increase output and the country’s government and oil palm farmers are seeking to increase output sixfold by 2020.



Colombia has abundant land which is highly suitable for palm oil cultivation and these are degraded lands which have been earmarked by the government for palm oil development. Their government has assigned various favourable measures and incentives to achieve the production target. In addition, Colombia has a highly developed and mature biodiesel implementation program which complements their energy needs.



The presentation will show the development of palm oil in the American Continent with a special focus on Colombia and opportunities for Malaysian companies to explore or form joint venture partnerships with.

You need to login to view the report.
Questions & Answers (0) :
Please login to post Question & Answer
Login
Please login/register to view the reports.
Username:
Password:
  Forgot password?
NOT A MEMBER?
Click here to register.
For enquiries, please contact: help@pomdr.org.my
Latest Reports

Latest Reports

Our Regional Experts

USA
Mr. Zainuddin Hassan
zainuddin@mpocus.com
   
Europe
Mr. Uthaya Kumar
kumar@mpoc.eu
   
Turkey
Mr. Mohammad Hafezh
mhafezh@mpoc.org.my
   
Egypt
Mr. Mohamad Suhaili
msuhaili@mpoc.org.my
   
South Africa
Mr. Kamal Azmi
kazmi@mpoc.org.za
   
Pakistan
Mr. Faisal Iqbal
faisal@mpoc.org.pk
   
Bangladesh
Mr. AKM Fakhrul Alam
fakhrul@mpoc.org.bd
   
India
Ms. Bhavna Shah
bhavna@mpoc.org.in
   
China
Mr. Desmond Ng
desmond@mpoc.org.cn
   
Asia Pacific
Mr. Mohammad Hafezh
mhafezh@mpoc.org.my

 

Disclaimer Close
  • Members are entitled to FREE online reports available in this website. For additional services, minimal surcharge may apply.

  • The membership to this website is only applicable to the Malaysian palm oil industry members. If you’re not a Malaysian company, please write to MPOC to be a member.

  • MPOC holds the right to refuse admission to any member as information in this website are meant only for members consumption.
Contact Us Close
Should you require further information, please feel free to email us at the following addresses:
© Copyright 2018 Malaysian Palm Oil Council. All Rights Reserved.