THE IMPLICATIONS OF MICECA ON MALAYSIAN PALM OIL
16
VIEWS
by Bhavna Shah
The Malaysia-India Comprehensive Economic Agreement (MICECA), implemented with effect from 1st January, 2019, provided for a maximum import duty of 40% and 45% on Crude and Refined Palm Oil/Olein respectively. This applied to POP imported into India from Malaysia.



At the same time, the ASEAN-India Comprehensive Economic Agreement (AICECA), implemented at the same time, provided for a maximum import duty of 40% and 50% on Crude and Refined Palm Oil/Olein respectively, to be effective 1st Jan 2019. Since imports from Malaysia were governed by the MICECA, the duties under the AICECA applied to imports from Indonesia.



Although these changes had been expected for some time, there was confusion as to the different rates provided for Refined Products in the two agreements. Pressure was exerted from various quarters to either not implement these lower rates or to introduce some counter measures to minimise the impact of such reduction.
You need to login to view the report.
Questions & Answers (0) :
Please login to post Question & Answer
Login
Please login/register to view the reports.
Username:
Password:
  Forgot password?
NOT A MEMBER?
Click here to register.
For enquiries, please contact: help@pomdr.org.my
Latest Reports

Latest Reports

Our Regional Experts

USA
Mr. Zainuddin Hassan
zainuddin@mpocus.com
   
Europe
Mr. Uthaya Kumar
kumar@mpoc.eu
   
Turkey
Mr. Mohammad Hafezh
mhafezh@mpoc.org.my
   
Egypt
Mr. Mohamad Suhaili
msuhaili@mpoc.org.my
   
Ghana
Mr. Karthigayen Selva Kumar
kartik.kumar@mpocus.com
   
Pakistan
Mr. Faisal Iqbal
faisal@mpoc.org.pk
   
Bangladesh
Mr. AKM Fakhrul Alam
fakhrul@mpoc.org.bd
   
India
Ms. Bhavna Shah
bhavna@mpoc.org.in
   
China
Mr. Desmond Ng
desmond@mpoc.org.cn
   
Asia Pacific
Mr. Muhammad Kharibi
kharibi@mpoc.org.my

 

Disclaimer Close
  • Members are entitled to FREE online reports available in this website. For additional services, minimal surcharge may apply.

  • The membership to this website is only applicable to the Malaysian palm oil industry members. If you’re not a Malaysian company, please write to MPOC to be a member.

  • MPOC holds the right to refuse admission to any member as information in this website are meant only for members consumption.
Contact Us Close
Should you require further information, please feel free to email us at the following addresses:
© Copyright 2019 Malaysian Palm Oil Council. All Rights Reserved.